Monday, 20 July 2015

Ghana left out in 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards: (Full List of Winners)

After not attending previous editions of The MTV Africa Music Awards due to crazy schedules, Nigerian super-group P-Square ended the ‘curse’ by attending and winning big again at the 2015 award ceremony held at the Durban International Convention Centre, South Africa on Saturday.

P-Square won the Group of The Year and the Artist of The
Decade honorary award to mark ten years of MTV Base in Africa.

Another MTV Africa Music Awards multiple award winner, D’Banj also won the MTV Evolution award, dedicating it to his former business partner and producer, Don Jazzy.

D'banj wins 'MTV Evolution' award, dedicates it to Don Jazzy

The show that originally had no Ghanaian on the performing line-up saw no wins for Ghana but plenty of performances from some of the continents biggest acts as well as international super stars Neyo and Jhene Aiko.

Rapper, Young Thug, who was previously advertised to perform couldn’t make it due to his legal battles in the USA as he has been indicted for drug and weapons possession.

See below for the full list of winners

Personality Of the Year – Trevor Noah

Best Male – Davido

Best Female – Yemi Alade

Best New Act – Patoranking

Best Live Act – Diamond Platnumz

Best Lusophone – Ary (Angola)

Best Pop & Alternative – Jeremy Loops(South Africa)

Best Collaboration – AKA, Burnaboy, Da Les & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/Nigeria)

Best Hip Hop – Cassper Nyovest

Video of the year – Nafukwa – Ricky Rick

Best Francophone – DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)

Best Group – P-Square (Nigeria)

Song of the Year – Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)

MAMA Evolution – D’Banj (Nigeria)

Best International Act – Nicki Minaj

Artist of the Decade: P-Square

MTV Base Leadership Award: Saran Kaba Jones & S’Bu Mavundla

Post a Comment